Each time you recompile your plug-in and wish to test it, you need to copy it to the plug-in directory. If DigiView is still running and your old plug-in is still in use, Windows will not let you over-write it. To release the old version, you need to do one of the following:
•shut down DigiView, copy the plug-in, restart DigiView
•delete the signal using your plug-in, copy the new plug-in, recreate the signal
•disable the signal using your plug-in, copy the new plug-in, then enable the signal
The disable/re-enable is the best. It is fast and easy and still preserves all configuration items. You can disable/enable the signal from the Signal Definitions tab in the project settings window or from the signal's configuration editor. The signal's editor can be opened from the Signal Definitions tab or by clicking on the signal name in the waveform view.
NOTE: If you use the enable/disable checkbox from the signal editor, be aware that any changes you made to the plug-in's configuration options will NOT be reflected in the editor until it is closed and reopened. Also, anytime you make changes to any of the configuration option definitions, you should check your settings in the signal editor. If you change the option name/label, it will be treated like a new option and set to its default settings. Also, we store configuration as indexes into the options you provide so if you change some of the parameters, we could be selecting a different setting now.