8. Creating, Saving and Restoring Project Files

Top  Previous  Next

 

Save Project File

The Save Project function is under the FILE menu.  The current state (Zoom, time, marker locations, waveforms associations, etc.), all windows, signal definitions, search definitions, trigger definitions, and the data buffer of the current capture are saved to the file you select.  The data is always stored in compressed format, so the size of the project file will vary from a few KBytes up to just over 4 MBytes.

 

Save As New Project

The Save As New Project function is located on the FILE menu.  It performs the same function as the normal "Save Project" option, but will prompt you for a new name and ask permission to copy the capture history for the new project. The entire capture history for the current project will automatically be copied for the new project if you select yes when prompted. The "Copy History" prompt also displays the amount of disk space being used by the history files and will copy as many files as free space allows, leaving a safety margin. The most recent captures are copied first in case you do not have enough space available for the entire history to be copied to the new location. 

 

Open...

The Open (Restore) function is under the File menu (File->Open).  This will load a previously saved project file and verify its capture history.

 

Auto Save/Restore

The "Auto Save" and "Restore last File" options are found in the Environment settings (found under the CONFIG menu).  When both of these options are enabled, DigiView auto-saves the current data, settings and state of the project when you exit the program (or have requested a different project to be loaded) and auto-loads the last opened project when you start the program.  This allows you to pick-up where you left-off the next time you start the software without having to save/restore.  You can still save the project manually anytime you need by using the "Save Project As" selection on the File menu or clicking the "Save" button.

 

New Project

To start completely fresh and eliminate all defined signals, searches, data, triggers and windows, select the New Project option from the File menu.

 

When creating a new project file, you must select the proper analyzer model and optionally the preferred sampling mode. For this reason, the software will provide a selection window with information regarding any detected hardware as shown below. Simply select the Model and the Sampling Mode, then click on the "OK" button to create a new file. If you do not want to create a new project, then select cancel to continue with the currently loaded project.

 

 

newfileselection

 

 

Convert Project

If you want to use the same project configuration but convert it to be compatible with a different model of analyzer, select the "Convert Project" option from the File menu. However, be aware that Conversion will delete the current projects Capture History. If you have a capture history that you want to preserve, the project should be saved with a new name before converting.  

 

 

convertselection